Skip to content

Spiritual Zombies

October 23, 2014

zombiesignI have a close friend, whose name, for the purposes of this post, I’ll keep confidential, but whose fear of zombies is legendary amongst our circle of friends. No matter how often you tell him, “Dude, zombies are not real,” he will tell you he knows . . . and, it doesn’t matter, the fear persists.

It’s chuckle-worthy in the cold light of day, but I woke up in the middle of the night last night, face to face with a zombie of my own. And, unlike the ones I tease my friend about, this one was very real.

By now you’re thinking, “Okay, Marie, you’ve lost it, now, Girl!” But, think about it, and I’d gather you’ve come across one, too. Stay with me here:

I am a Christian. 2 Corinthians 5:17 tells us, “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.” (NASB)

To become a Christian, I was buried in the watery grave of baptism and died to my old self and my old sinful way of life: “having been buried with Him in baptism, in which you were also raised up with Him through faith in the working of God, who raised Him from the dead.” (‭Colossians‬ ‭2‬:‭12‬ NASB)

And,

“Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life.” (‭Romans‬ ‭6‬:‭4‬ NASB)

The old me, the one with the sins is dead and gone: “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.” (‭Galatians‬ ‭2‬:‭20‬ NASB)

But what in the world does that have to do with zombies, though? Is that what you’re thinking?
As a Christian, how often do you revisit the “Old You?” Live through the guilt and hold yourself accountable all over again? Didn’t we just read the verses together showing that Christ paid the debt in full for your sins? That you are redeemed? You are free from the bondage of sin? But there you are at the gravesite of the “Old You” allowing that spiritual zombie to come back to life and haunt you with past sins that have been forgiven!

Whenever you are tempted to dwell on the past, remember that you are re-animating that spiritual zombie. It’s easy to beat yourself up about your sins and mistakes. But God thought enough of you that He died for you in the form of His Son, Christ Jesus. Keep that thought uppermost in your mind, and let it slay the spiritual zombies in your life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

