Skip to content

Happy 12th Birthday to My Oldest!

July 3, 2010

My oldest turned 12 today. It’s always such a bittersweet day for me. Rejoicing in the day of my son’s birth, but yet such painful memories of how he almost didn’t make it. He arrived in this world with an APGAR of 1 and had to be revived twice. We were given dire prognostications, all while seeing this tiny life hooked up to all types of machinery. We saw middle-aged male doctors, who’ve seen just about everything there is to see, visibly shaken when visiting me much later in my room that night.

But, my son was dubbed “the miracle man” as he struggled to free himself from all the interventions. He was soon taken off of the respirator, and within 5 days (a Wednesday), he was discharged from the NICU. The doctors told us to “treat him like a normal baby” and that we did, by taking him where we went every Wednesday night: Bible study. People couldn’t believe we brought this tiny guy, who barely made it into this world, to church. But, we knew it was only God who brought him through it, and our son needed to meet Him as soon as possible — though I think they had already long been acquainted, because, clearly God was with him the whole time (Psalm 139:13-16).

He’s here, now, though. And that’s what counts. He’s thriving, and he is just the nicest guy. I’m so proud of my little BoyMan. Happy Birthday!

Image credit

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

