Skip to content

Consistently Inconsistent? Or Inconsistently Consistent?

June 29, 2010

On the surface of things, one might blame my ADD as the reason I am not easily pegged ideologically.  Similar to my condition, my core belief system may appear scattered, but upon further inspection, as I will try to lay out here, it is not the case.

It might seem that I am a walking mass of contradictions—I am a conservative, but I favor gun control; I support co-sleeping and extended breastfeeding, but I am not opposed to spanking. I believe in limited government but also in temporary financial assistance to those who are truly in need. I support the Nestle boycott, and I try to recycle, but I used disposable diapers, and my intention to vermicompost has gone by the wayside, and I’m okay with that.

In the sight of some, I suppose that paints me as inconsistent. I believe it shows a streak of independent thought. Very few things have me go down a straight line and check everything off. I like to analyze each issue, and measure it against Scripture, or if not a spiritual issue, what seems to make sense to me, and for me.

I’m not saying that anyone reading this falls into a “sheeple” mentality. But, I see so many “party line” issues that make absolutely no sense to me: supporting the “choice” to abort human life, yet caring so much about a 2” fish in California’s Central Valley that the water for a whole industry is put on hold. It’s “little things” (riiiight) like that, that drive my poor ADD brain insane!

So this blog is me “living out loud,” and exploring these conundrums politically and as they relate to living and parenting. I hope you’ll stay for the ride…but, I’d caution: buckle up and keep all body parts inside the car until it comes to a full stop!

Image credit

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 7:55 pm

    I hear you on this. For the longest time, I had a hard time with my paradoxes because of what I thought it looked like to others — inconsistent, wishy-washy. But I am passionate about so many things. I’m just not a linear thinker and I weigh everything as you mentioned. It’s a difficult road especially when it comes to politics (which I have always sworn off discussing because of my independent views), since picking a “side” and sticking to it come hell or high water is what it seems people do. But, I’ve finally come to peace with my style.

    • July 20, 2010 8:02 pm

      And I respect you *so* much for it. Because of my multi-racial ethnicity, I think I’ve just become tired of trying to “fit” in someone else’s box, you know? Now that I’m a grown up, I can eat pie for breakfast if I want….So I’m trying more to please God, and worry less about what other people think or expect. I respect differences of opinion, but I can’t let them define *me* anymore….

Leave a Reply

